Paragliding course "On dirait le Sud" 2023

  • Published
  • Posted in Voler
  • Updated
  • 6 mins read
  • Post category:Flying
  • Auteur/autrice de la publication :

Paragliding course "On dirait le Sud" 2023

Here's a short summary of this 3-day paragliding 'trip'. days, touring the Trièves, Dévoluy, Champsaur and Ubaye valleys, ...
The aim of this South course is to help people discover new flight sites paragliding for autonomous pilots (brevet init level if possible), discovering sites in the South of France if possible, but why not elsewhere if the weather forces us to. The Vosges, the Massif Central, etc. could be possible destinations for this course.

Personal progress in piloting, autonomy, discovery of new flying sites, first thermals, soaring, ... The programme is varied and the pleasure of flying is the driving force behind the whole course.
The two nights and the meals are spent together in places chosen according to the destination and therefore the weather.


First day of the course :

Departing from Talloires on Friday morning, the 7 pilots registered for the course, accompanied by their two instructors Cédric and Robin, set off for 3 days of paragliding in the southern French Alps.
A first stop at the Courtet flying site in the Triève after only a few hours on the road: 2 flights for all the pilots. After waiting for the take-off slope to see the sun and for the katabatic breeze to stop (tailwind on take-off), the pilots took off and did a few pitching and ear exercises to get to know each other and fine-tune their piloting skills, then a few laps in small thermals to try and slow the descent on the second flight.
A good hour's drive later we were on our way to Aspres Sur Buëch. Here, 15-20km/h of breeze awaited us on take-off, perfect for a soaring flight in laminar conditions (low turbulence), with a few large thermals for those who managed to make a few circles in them. For all pilots, the flight lasted between an hour and an hour and a half before reaching the landing zone at dusk. What a flight!


Then it was a bit of a drive again that day until we arrived at the accommodation we had chosen two days earlier: The "Centre de Vacances de la Ville d'Aubagne" in Saint Vincent les Forts. Simple accommodation, but very quiet and well situated for our programme.

Stage Sud Parapente Courtet.jpg
Courtet
Stage Sud Parapente Aspres.jpg
Aspres sur Buëch

 

The flight tracks from Courtet and Aspres are here.

 

Second day of the course:

After an evening in a restaurant together, and a good night's rest, the drivers and I decided not to do too much driving that day and to focus on the sites around us.
By 11am we were in place at the Mont Colombis take-off, heading for Gap over the Durance. A few thermals for some of us on the east face, a few in-flight exercises again and then a very nice picnic on the banks of the Durance.

Stage Sud Parapente Mont Colombis.jpg
Mount Colombis

 

Back in the early afternoon at St Vincent les Forts, we took advantage of the Montclar ski lifts to get to the take-off point on the ski resort plateau. A few more thermals for some of the pilots, who lasted 45 minutes in the air!
We then took the chairlift up again, and decided to climb even higher, to the Dormillouse fort, for a peaceful flight in the setting light. It was a superb hike, shared with a large part of the group, and with a golden eagle who was delighted to come and give us a fine demonstration of thermalling right on the edge of the path! 

Stage Sud Parapente Dormillouse.jpg
Dormillouse

The tracks of the flights from Colombis and Montclar are here.

A long, leisurely glide later, and we're all back at the take-off point at St Vincent les Forts to enjoy the sunset over a well-earned beer!

Paragliding Saint Vincent les forts Couche Soleil
Saint Vincent les Forts

 

Another evening in the excellent restaurant from the night before, and another night's rest in Saint Vincent les Forts.

Third day of the course :

For the final day we start heading north, and choose to make a splash with some flying exercises from Chorges.

Stage Sud Parapente Chorges.jpg
Chorges

 

 We then head for Champsaur, to the Orcières Merlettes flying site on the southern edge of the Ecrins massif.

Stage Sud Parapente Orcières.jpg
Orcières

 

A first flight to discover the site for some, with the breeze already in place and cumulus clouds perched high on the relief of the Ecrins. A few pilots managed to work up a bit of thermalling on this flight, but didn't manage to stay aloft for very long.

We had hoped for a second flight with more thermals, but the breeze was a little too strong and made it too difficult to extract the site. After battling to stay airborne a few moments longer, we all landed. 

As we set off on our return journey, we noticed a few very high sails in the skies above the Ecrins before leaving the Orcières valley. Probably the conditions were very good if we took off even higher up, or further into the heart of the massif (Vallouise?). Maybe that's for another time!

Memories, learning and great times shared, this Southern course was a great success on all fronts, with incredibly good weather.
Thank you to all the participants: Diane, Félix, Cédric, Laurent, Aureliano, Jean-Michel and Jean-Charles!


We look forward to seeing you again next season for another South coursebut not only ... our course schedule for the 2024 season is now available here. Course dates are still being added to the schedule, so stay tuned or contact us to find out more.

A short video montage is in progress and will be added to this page as soon as possible. To be continued ...

 

Robin and Cédric


About the author :

robin G.

An enthusiast of many outdoor activities, I took up paragliding in 2010, and never stop wanting to learn more and share my passion for paragliding. Flying for a long time and exploring our beautiful mountains after a climb on foot is what drives me the most! As an amateur competitor, I'm constantly on the lookout for performance and pleasure. Being able to make a living from my passion is an opportunity that I seized in 2016 by becoming an instructor. Since then, I've never tired of accompanying you on flights in the region, surrounded by a great team of passionate people! I look forward to meeting you and sharing an aerial moment together!

All blog posts

Stage Parapente « On dirait le Sud » 2023

  • Publié
  • Publié dans Voler
  • Mise à jour
  • 6 minutes de lecture
  • Catégorie de poste :Voler
  • Auteur/autrice de la publication :

Stage Parapente « On dirait le Sud » 2023

Voici un petit résumé de ce stage « voyage » de parapente de 3 jours, en itinérance entre les massifs du Trièves, Dévoluy, Champsaur, vallée de l’Ubaye, ..
L’objectif de ce stage Sud est de faire découvrir de nouveaux sites de vols en parapente à des pilotes autonomes (niveau brevet init si possible), en allant découvrir si possible des sites dans le Sud, mais pourquoi pas ailleurs si la météo nous y contraint. Les Vosges, le Massif central, .. peuvent être des destinations possible pour ce stage.

Progression personnelle en pilotage, autonomie, découverte de nouveaux sites de vols, premiers thermiques, soaring, .. Le programme est varié et le plaisir en vol est le moteur de tout ce stage.
Les deux nuits et les repas sont passés ensemble dans des lieux choisis en fonction de la destination et donc de la météo.


Premier jour du stage :

Au départ de Talloires le vendredi matin, les 7 pilotes inscrits à ce stage, accompagnés de leurs deux moniteurs Cédric et Robin, ont pris la route pour 3 jours de parapente dans le Sud des Alpes Française.
Un premier arrêt sur le site de vol de Courtet dans le Triève après quelques heures de route seulement : 2 vols pour tous les pilotes. Après avoir attendu que la pente du décollage voit le soleil et que la brise catabatique s’arrête (vent arrière au décollage), les pilotes décollent et font quelques exercices de tangage et oreilles pour apprendre à se connaître et peaufiner le pilotage de chacun, puis quelques tours dans de petits thermiques pour essayer de ralentir la descente sur le second vol.
Une bonne heure de route plus tard nous étions rendu sur le site d’Aspres Sur Buëch. Là nous attendait 15-20km/h de brise au décollage, parfait pour un vol en dynamique (soaring) dans des conditions laminaires (peu turbulentes), avec aussi quelques grands et larges thermiques pour ceux qui réussissent à faire quelques ronds dedans. De quoi profiter pour toues les pilotes d’1h à 1h30 de vol avant de rejoindre l’atterrissage à la nuit tombante. Quel vol !!


Un peu de route ensuite encore ce jour-là jusqu’à arriver à notre logement choisi deux jours auparavant : Le « Centre de Vacances de la Ville d’Aubagne » à Saint Vincent les Forts. Logement simple mais très calme et très bien situé pour notre programme.

Stage Sud Parapente Courtet.jpg
Courtet
Stage Sud Parapente Aspres.jpg
Aspres sur Buëch

 

Les traces des vols depuis Courtet et Aspres sont ici.

 

Deuxième jour du stage :

Après une soirée dans un restaurant tous ensemble, et une bonne nuit de repos, nous avons décidé avec les pilotes de ne pas faire trop de route ce jour-là et de privilégier les sites autour de nous.
Dès 11h nous étions en place au décollage du Mont Colombis, en direction de Gap au-dessus de la Durance. Quelques thermiques pour certains sur la face Est, quelques exercices en vol à nouveau puis un picnic très sympa au bord de la Durance.

Stage Sud Parapente Mont Colombis.jpg
Mont Colombis

 

De retour en début d’après-midi du côté de St Vincent les Forts, nous avons ensuite profité des remontées mécaniques de la station de Montclar pour accéder au décollage sur le plateau de la station de ski. Quelques thermiques à nouveau pour certains pilotes qui tiendrons 45 mn en vol !
Une nouvelle montée en télésiège ensuite, et nous décidons même de monter encore plus haut, jusqu’au fort de Dormillouse pour faire un vol paisible dans la lumière couchante. Superbe randonnée partagée avec une grande partie du groupe, et avec un Aigle royal qui nous fera le plaisir de venir nous faire une belle démonstration de  thermique juste en bordure du chemin ! 

Stage Sud Parapente Dormillouse.jpg
Dormillouse

Les traces des vols depuis le Colombis et Montclar sont ici.

Une longue et paisible glissade plus tard, nous voilà tous ensemble au décollage de St Vincent les Forts pour profiter du coucher de soleil autour d’une bière bien méritée !

Parapente Saint Vincent les forts Couche Soleil
Saint Vincent les Forts

 

Une soirée de plus dans l’excellent restaurant de la veille, et une nouvelle nuit de repos à Saint Vincent les forts.

Troisième jour du stage :

Pour le dernier jour nous commençons à remonter vers le Nord, et choisissons de faire un plouf avec des exercices en vol depuis Chorges.

Stage Sud Parapente Chorges.jpg
Chorges

 

 Nous prenons ensuite la direction du Champsaur, sur le site de vol d’Orcières Merlettes en bordure Sud du massif des Ecrins.

Stage Sud Parapente Orcières.jpg
Orcières

 

Un premier vol de découverte du site pour certains, avec déjà de la brise en place et des cumulus haut perché sur les reliefs des écrins. Quelques pilotes arriverons à travailler un peu de thermique sur ce vol, mais sans réussir à rester en l’air très longtemps.

Un second vol que l’on espérait avec plus de thermiques, mais la brise était un peu trop présente et rendait l’extraction du site trop difficile. Après avoir bataillé pour rester en vol quelques instants de plus, nous nous retrouvons tous à l’atterrissage. 

Au moment de prendre la route du retour, on observe quelques voiles très hautes dans le ciel des écrins avant de quitter la vallée d’Orcières. Probablement que les conditions étaient très bonne en décollant plus haut encore, ou plus au cœur du massif (Vallouise ?). Ce sera pour une prochaine fois peut être !

Des souvenirs, de l’ apprentissage et de très bons moments partagés, ce  stage Sud aura été une belle réussite sur tous les plans avec une météo incroyablement bonne.
Merci à tous les participants : Diane, Félix, Cédric, Laurent, Aureliano, Jean-Michel et Jean-Charles !


On vous donne rendez-vous la saison prochaine, à nouveau pour un stage Sud, mais pas que .. : notre planning de stage pour la saison 2024 est trouve ici. Les dates de stages sont encore en cours d’être ajoutées au planning, restez connecter ou contactez nous pour en savoir plus.

Un petit montage vidéo est en cours et sera ajouté à cette page dès que possible. A suivre ..

 

Robin et Cédric


A propos de l'auteur :

robin G.

Adepte de nombreuses activités de plein air, et tombé dans le parapente en 2010, je ne cesse de vouloir apprendre toujours plus et de vouloir partager cette passion du parapente. Voler longtemps et parcourir nos belles montagnes après une montée à pieds, c’est ce qui m’anime le plus ! Compétiteur amateur, sans cesse en quête de performance et de plaisir. Pouvoir vivre de ma passion est une chance que j’ai saisie en 2016 en devenant moniteur. Depuis je ne me lasse pas de vous accompagner en vols dans la région, entouré d’une super équipe elle aussi faite de passionnés ! Au plaisir de se rencontrer pour partager un moment aérien ensemble !

Tous les articles du blog